Blogs I Enjoy Reading

reading laptop

 

Since I started blogging, way back in April, I spend a lot of time reading on my laptop. In fact, too much time. I’ve decided that I need to take some of that time, and really go through the blogs I follow. I want to share those blogs that I enjoy reading, hopefully three each month. I’ve also sent a request to each blogger, for a direct quote that I can include in this post.

lorrainesvoice

It’s been a while since reading this blog, and once again, I’m pleasantly surprised. I find it’s quirkiness just like a breath of fresh air. Loaded with little bits of humour, some of it expertly hidden so you have to read on to ‘get it’. (Well, I do anyway.) A wide range of subjects for a very happy, fun read.

Lorraine writes plays, short stories, books, and general ramblings about life.

From Lorraine: My inspiration is in the minutiae of life: the impromptu spider hunt in the middle of a committee meeting; the small child picking her nose during the nativity play; tripping up in the theatre aisle and finding yourself hanging onto a bald man’s head. (It’s all happened, believe me!) When I find myself bemused at some stupid, mind-bogglingly weird event or person, I don’t get annoyed. I just think, “Ooh! I can use that!” It’s probably a character flaw.

Half and Half

If you want a good chuckle, this blog is for you. I’m going to go ahead and say, that you will probably enjoy this more if you’re female. It is surprisingly relatable, if you are willing to admit that, and is laced with humour. Posts fall under the headings of Wit, Wisdom, and Nonsense. Bonus: lots of lists!

This would pair well with a bottle of wine and a cheese plate.

middle class fury

A plethora of all the things we think, but do not write about. Composed with a profusion of negativity, this blog had me literally putting my laptop aside so that I could bend myself all the way forward in laughter. My guy even asked if I was going to be alright. An expansive, descriptive, critical look at nearly everything under the sun, will have you doing the same.

Advisement: Visit the washroom prior to reading.

 As always, comments are welcomed, and encouraged! I would love to know your take on these blogs. Do you have any recommendations of blogs you enjoy reading? Why not share them!

If you’d like to browse a few more, click the link below.

July 2014

 

5 thoughts on “Blogs I Enjoy Reading

  1. I have nominated you for the sisterhood of the world blogger award!
    You can find out about it here: /http://melissaholden.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/
    Well done! 🙂 (You don’t have to accept if you don’t want to!)

    Like

  2. Like you, I must spend a couple of hours daily reading… I’m not too thrilled about it, but if I follow someone, I have to read what they post or not follow them at all…

    Like

    • It is definitely a give and take, that takes up a lot of time. I’m opting for the read a lot, one day a week. Otherwise I get carried away and get nothing else done.

      Cheers!

      Like

  3. Yes, there are beautiful blogs, and we need to spend time in exploring and enjoying the versatility that comes with each one of them…thoughts are deep and wide, interesting perspective, make us sit back and reflect…good one!!!

    Like

Please comment...it's more fun that way!

