Gray Follow-up; Two Months Down

To start, I have to comment on how remarkably slow this going gray is. Everything else seems to speed by and sometimes, even without me noticing. Why the difference? I suppose my anticipation of having it complete, hangs out in the forefront of my thoughts. I also want to note, that it has been more than two months. I was about six weeks in, when I made the decision.

gray hair

 

 

So far, so good. It’s definitely spreading! I only ever hear comments from the mirror herself; they are generally good, depending on her mood. When I’m away from the mirror, I don’t think about it at all. When I go into a store and walk down the hair dye aisle, it doesn’t enter my head. It’s such a relief to not have that six-eight week mark, in your brain at all times, so that if you are in a store, you can pick up a box. DONE WITH THAT!

 

gray hairI don’t think I look any older, I certainly don’t look any younger, but how young do I want to look? I’d be content with looking my age. It’s taken me quite a few years to get here, and yes, I’ve earned those years, along with the wisdom that came with them. I’ve no desire to use a semi-permanent yet, but as it grows out, that is an option I will keep open. Apparently you can get clear coats, which add moisture and nutrients, without any colour. Don’t need those yet, but again, I will keep as an option.

I think I’ll go a little shorter, maybe another inch off the bottom. I do like to be able to pull it back from my face, but the shorter it is, the more wave I have. We’ll see.

I still haven’t heard from any one else who would like to join me. To anyone listening: I feel freer, more authentic, the further along I am. I actually find this fun; watching the changes in the mirror, and then sharing it with the world. Well, maybe not the world, but a world bigger than mine was before. Anyone??

You can read about my decision to go gray, here.

More good, gray, reads!

25 “Gray Hair” Bloggers Who Rock

8 thoughts on “Gray Follow-up; Two Months Down

  1. I commend your decision. I did that myself a few years ago and wrote about it on “Little old lady days”. I did it mostly because I was Lazy, but i was also inspired by some women I saw that had beautiful gray hair and they styled it in great ways. Never mind the time it takes, the end is worth it. wish you lots of fun during this transition, be bold! lol

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I love getting encouragement! There seems to be a movement, much larger than I imagined, to go natural. It’s unfortunate to get caught up in the ‘I have to look younger’, or whatever it is that drives us to keep dyeing. It is a relief, to let go, to be more of me. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. I was coloring before I retired at the suggestion of my wife, and I think it probably helped to look a little younger at work, since I was in a leadership position. Now that I’m retired, I don’t see the need, and now my hair is gray/white. I feel more comfortable this way. My wife has also cut back on her coloring, not completely, but partly. I like her gray starting to peek out now. Growing old with her is a comforting thought to me.

    Like

  3. I have thought about letting the natural (grey) shine though. Just before it is time to redo those grey roots I think “I wonder how it would look if I just let it be?” But at last I have not found the answer to that question. Yet. Maybe when I go back to working from home, hopefully September that I will stop dying it. Beside my hair goes from dark (right after I color it) to varies shades of brown as the sun seems to bleach it. So I may be joining you.

    Like

Please comment...it's more fun that way!

