Because She’s Gray…See?

gray kitten pet adopted

I adore animals. If I could, I would adopt them all, but it’s just not practical. So…

Quaker, my first dependent, had been gone for a while and I thought–as I do–that getting another cat would be delightful. So, with my youngest son in tow, off we went to a BCSPCA. It took us about an hour to get there. I had heard that they had some kittens, and I was hoping for a kitten. 

Of course, I wanted to take all of them home with me, but there was one Calico, I believe about a year old or so, who I fell for. She was friendly, showing her personality, and walking to and fro in front of me. I gave her some love and she responded immediately, seemingly unafraid. My son however, spotted a little gray kitten at the back of a cage, –and he fell for her. I guess you could say, he chose our next cat.

It was settled. Heartbreaking to take this little kitten away from her mother, but we thanked her for her gift. The ride home was filled with the tiny mewling, coming from the cardboard box. She was just nine weeks.

gray kitten pet adopted

We were told by the vet, to watch how our beagle/ coonhound reacted to her, as they have a tendency towards making meals out of small animals. It took only a few days for McKay to grow fond of her new sister.

I like to tell the story of how I named our kitten, because of how my boys roll their eyes and shake their heads at me. It makes me laugh. I decided her name was to be, Graysee…because she’s gray…see?

There was no question who Graysee’s mom was. She slept on my hair most nights, and I carried her around with me for weeks. She would crawl up under my chin, and proceed to fall asleep. I crafted a sling out of a blanket to keep my hands free, and because she was getting heavier. Inconvenient? Yes. Exasperatingly cute? Yes. She took to relieving herself, on my husband’s side of the bed. Annoying as that was, I was thankful it wasn’t my side. It was only when she was spayed, that she wandered further away from me. I remember picking her up from her appointment, and how, when I called her name, she came right to me and crawled up onto my shoulder. She knew she was going home, even through her dazed and off-balance state.

It wasn’t long before she would spend most of the warm, summer days outside, popping in a few times for a meal. It was morning, and through the window I saw her with another cat, sitting at the end of our driveway. She came inside for a snack, while the other cat remained at the end of our driveway. When Graysee went back outside, they left together. I wish I knew where they were going, and what they were saying to each other. I’m not sure we humans, are supposed to see stuff like that.

gray cat beagle coonhound pets family

Graysee and McKay are great friends. Graysee greets McKay, always with a few kisses, as McKay sniffs away, trying to find out where Graysee has been. She will even bat her paw at McKay playfully, making the dog run around a bit. They are sweet together. As you can see, McKay even let Graysee share her food.

gray cat pet familyGraysee was loved by all our neighbours in North Vancouver. Apparently, she would go into their homes to get some extra attention, and probably some treats. I didn’t know this until quite a bit later.

She once went missing for five days, and we were all horrified at the notion that she may not return. One morning, my husband came into the bedroom to wake me. He told me to come and see something. There the brat was, on the kitchen island, as healthy as ever. I was so relieved to see her. Our pets are just like the kids, they grow with the family.

Unlike Quaker, Graysee is loved by all my family. No one is afraid of her. She is calm, gentle, and knowing. Such a wonderful addition to our family, human or otherwise. When this photo was taken, she was our resident fly-catcher. Thank you Graysee!

 

3 thoughts on “Because She’s Gray…See?

Please comment...it's more fun that way!

