Water

Water, in a glass, be it a light or driving rain, a calm, glassy lake, or the perpetual movement of the ocean, has always been able to change my mood, fill me up, or move me in a way that blows my mind. Mother Nature certainly knew what she was doing. I’ve been around water during my life, swimming in lakes and such, but, never had a view of it from my house.

It wasn’t until I moved to Vancouver that I really noticed the changes I felt, when I was near the ocean. Imagine driving along the highway, rounding a bend, and having a spectacular view of the Lion’s Gate Bridge and the sparkling ocean, unfolding before you. Of course, it was best when the sun was shining. Every time I drove that way, it was like seeing it for the first time, every time. My breath would be still for the short few seconds of anticipation, then the beauty and awe would wash over me, and then of course, I needed to get back to driving. I’m sure that more than a couple of times, even if I was alone, I would share my amazement out loud to no one.

My oldest son went to a preschool right on the beach, (Dundarave Preschool by the Sea), and the kids would get to walk in the sand for little outings. How joyful is that? My youngest son was on an excursion with us, and a seagull managed to poop right on his shoulder. Kind of funny!

Lion's Gate Bridge

Lion’s Gate Bridge–beautiful

In North Vancouver, there is a dog beach under the Lion’s Gate Bridge, and I would love to go there…with my dogs, of course. Sometimes the wind was so spirited, and so balmy, I would have to stand still, close my eyes and let it blow against my face. The smell of the ocean, heavy in the air. I could stand like that for only a minute and then I would have to check on my dogs. Chihuahuas don’t seem to like the wind all that much, and I would have to leave my spot and chase after her, as she would be almost back up to the sidewalk. She was having none of this!

Crane

Crane–perfect timing

In the fall, when the cooler rains would descend, and the wind was tenacious, sometimes the water would splash against the rocks along the seawall, and you might feel the spray, if you were lucky. Cold or not, it was magical. Again, my chihuahua was never very impressed by this…hmmm.

It was then that I started imagining my next house having a view of the ocean. A couple years passed and I still had that picture firmly in my mind. Sitting at my desk one day, I experienced a very strange sensation. It was like my breath had been taken away and a wave of energy moved through me. Weird, I know but it’s what happened. In that moment, I was looking through a window, over the tops of some evergreens, to the beautiful ocean. Then it was gone.

Another year passed, and I was moving to Vancouver Island, and searching online for a rental house. One of the first houses I looked at had a large window looking over some evergreens, and on to the ocean. Slightly different than the ‘vision’ I had but I kept coming back to that house. I knew that was where I wanted to be.

Early morning...

Early morning…shaky, cell phone picture

Have been here now for a couple of years and I am always in awe of the changes in the water, if the sun is shining, the ocean sparkles, or if the fog rolls in and then out again, which it may do up to three times in a row. Sometimes the water is so still and other times there may be whitecaps. The scene changes daily as sailboats sail by, tugboats pulling logs sometimes take an hour to pass by, and the occasional cargo ship parks for a few days waiting for it’s load. After the rain, I’ll be given a front row seat to my very own rainbow. I am grateful for this window, this sneak peak, into the life of the ocean. There have been days when I have not noticed, but, I get out of head, and make an effort to enjoy the view, and am always astonished.

I have recently moved my desk to the living room, to enjoy even more, the view of the water, as I write.

 

One thought on “Water

  1. Pingback: Pull From The Tides | Unstuffy Quotidian

Please comment...it's more fun that way!

